current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2005-08-17 - 3:03 p.m.

Sorry about the 8 month time gap. Things have been a little more than crazy. First off, anyone who is still trying to send me emails at my AOL address - please stop. Dad somehow managed to accidently change my password (about a year ago) and forgot what he changed it to. So, I can no longer check it. Mail will just keep having to build up in there. But, if you think I've been ignoring you because I haven't answered your emails, I haven't been... unless you've been sending them to my Ithaca account and you haven't gotten a response, THEN I'm ignoring you.

Last semester went alright - I suppose. I started it off with a bang. Shaved my head and made it into a children's sermon. It turned into a great talk and it had my desired effect: the minister has YET to ask me to do a chilren's sermon again! HAHAHAA! The only down side was having a shaved head in the middle of winter in upstate New York - I don't recommend it. It makes things a bit more cold.

I ended up going to Florida, yet again, over spring break with Schwang. Spent a couple days hacking up a lung on Siesta Key, thank you Red Tide. It was nice to sort of see my brother. He made this nasty habit of getting home after midnight and leaving at 5am to go to work. I did get to eat dinner with him a couple times though.

From Sarasota, I headed to Orlando where I spent some time with the Hoffmans. Chuck was nice enough to get Schwang and I into Disney for free! Yippee! He was quite surprised to see me with my head shaved though. Granted about an inch of it had grown back, but it was still pretty short.

The day in Disney was quite nice. The weather was crap (60 degrees and raining) but it turned out to be a great thing. It kept all the crowds away. We never had to wait more than 15minutes for any ride and most the time we just walked right on! It was awesome! We started out in Animal Kingdom and did the Bug's Life 3D show with all the special effects and everything. Scared me half to death - seriously - I'm a wuss. It just was way to much stimulation for my system (smell, visual, audio AND touch).

I got to see all the cool Disney stuff, buy Disney mints, ride Thunder and Space Mountain, eat a pull pork BBQ sandwich that made me sick (as always... one day I'll learn), and ended the day in Epcot riding their newest ride uh... something about a car test... whatever it was called it was fun.

The rest of the semester was pretty much like the first half except I spent a lot more time with Larry (the monk) for some reason. Went to a few parties at Larry's - was introduced to a guy named Cory who has won my heart through peach martinis - and he is no forever cursed with the reputation - "hey Cory's going to be here? Let's have him make peach martinis."

My birthday was a lot of fun. Larry and Cory took me to DC and we did it up right. We went out at midnight and the three of us got free birthday shots and then I topped off with a margarita! Mmmm... The next day we went to the zoo, Natural History Museum, that space and flight museum, ate fun food, watched the fireworks at the mall, and got evacuated in a Washington DC evaacuation drill which I'm not sure went too well. The last day we ate more, slept more, and did a wee bit of shopping. It, seriously, was the best birthday ever!

The rest of the summer has been pretty crazy. A few days after my birthday I drove from Ithaca to home. Then after two days home I flew out to Washington State to be with mom at an artcamp. Had some definate fun there and came back with some halfway descent sketches. Flew home from Washington, drove back out to Ithaca for four days, drove back home, stayed home for a week or two, drove back to Ithaca, stayed there for a day and a half, drove to Maryland, drove to some lake, then back to Ithaca and here I am. Insert in there one time getting redirected to a random highway and having to call a friend to help me through the back roads of Ohio to get to a different interstate (they closed down the interstate I was on) and you have a lot of time in the car with only two interesting stories: 1 finding a pig in the middle of the road and 2 me losing it at a truck driver in New York... poor truck driver.

I'm now almost all settled into my new apartment that is a stone throw away from campus. Mom came up last weekend and helped me organize like crazy. I still have two pieces of furniture on their way: a couch from Target (to be delivered sometime in the next YEAR... bastards) and a lofted bed from Ikea delivered courtesy of Cory.

I wish I had time to tell you all about my 4 hour long "walk" with Ben Crane (grumbles) or the crazy neighbor I have who leaves grills outside my apartment or the fun days spent by the swimming hole or building a stone wall but I'm at work and I've been ordered to get back to doing actual work - what the hell? I mean, seriously.

previous - next