current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2005-08-22 - 3:40 p.m.

Work has proved to be interesting. Last week I was stupidly put in charge of three people's jobs. I was overworked and underpaid (as the story goes). I did manage to get everything done though I was a bit stressed out about it. Thought everything was fine and dandy (minus the fact that I short-sheeted all but 15 of the bulletins... cough) until church started and I quickly realized that I hadn't changed any of the hymn numbers so they were all wrong. Worse yet, all the old people whose hymn music I have to specially print up didn't have the right music at all. I ducked out of church pretty quick and pouted for a good ten minutes or so when I got home.

I thought surely I was going to get it today when I came into work. "How could you mess up that bad!" etc. Instead, the bossman brought me cookies and blueberry muffins and when I still looked upset he hugged me. The organist came in and apologized for being upset (I think hell must have frozen over because 1) the organist apologized for something and 2) he apologized to ME). Then the assitant minister gave me Sunday off saying that I'd been hanging around church too much and should take a mini-vacation before I wouldn't be able to take one in awhile. Rock on!

Cory and I have been having a good time since he has been visiting. We've had some great food (Chicken Diablo, Crab Ravioli, Maxie's, Oysters, and more) and some great drinks... minus the raspberry martinis, those weren't so hot. Cory has also taken this opportunity to introduce me to Ithaca's night life. I had no idea I could be social at a bar. Ha! He's gotten me hooked on darts, which I thought would never happen. But I'm completely addicted and even have my own dart set now! Geesh! We went out with Amberly and a couple of her friends last night. Met at Korava's and played a crazy round of darts (my team lost, of course) and had a couple drinks. It was a lot of fun. And I love giving Cory a run for his money in darts. It entertains me to no end to see his little paniced face when I do something right - apparently I'm 100 times better than he was when he first started or something.

I also managed to get some shopping done while Cory was here and my apartment is almost all put together. I have a bed now, thanks to Cory's delivery and building service. And all I'm waiting for to find the perfect lamp, a reading light, a plant stand, and for my couch to be delivered... believe it or not Target is slower than Cory. The freaks sent my couch from Rochester to Canada to California and now it's heading to Syracuse where I assume it will then head to my house. What a round about way to get here from Rochester. Geesh.

Lucas, the turtle, has been quite happy since he has come home. His new setting is much better than what the poor guy has been dealing with the past few months. He has a big window that looks out over the lake, he gets sunshine, he gets to be up off the floor so he can see everything and as a welcome home gift I bought him a slew of goldfish to eat... well, actually I bought them cause Cory wanted to see Lucas bite some fishs' heads off. *shrugs* Either way, he enjoyed them.

I've got 40 minutes left of work and I'm fidgety as all heck. I would be working on the newsletter but the computer froze and has since died saying it doesn't have any of the windows startup system files (a small problem to say the least). And, of course, I am now the only one left in the building. What a crap way to have your day be spent. I'm the first one to get here in the morning and the last one to leave. Oh well, at least I get a paycheck.

previous - next