current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2002-09-20 - 2:22 p.m.

What's that noise? Is it the new mascot hooting? Is it Sarah falling down the stairs? Is it the wretching noise of the pianos in Presser? or is it all of the above?

So a couple weeks ago we had class elections here at Hollins University and along side of that we had to vote for the mascot. Why they suddenly decided to have a mascot, I don't know. They encouraged students to submit their ideas complete with drawings that will appear on various t-shirts, flags, and such and such. Though there was pleanty of publicity for this project, only four entries were submitted: The Fighting Dutch, The Hollins Hooters, The Hollins Sirens (which was really a drawing of an angel, that was kind of anoying), and the Aggressive Lesbians. *coughs* And Hollins Hooters won. I'm a bit upset about this because I find it kind of demeening (sp). But what really got me was seeing people where around shirts that say "I put the Ho back in Hollins." I mean, I have a good sense of humor, but what the heck?

On Tuesday of this week I ended up throwing my quad out of whack at fencing. "Let's do lunges the entire two hour practice guys!" said the coach. I started complaining after about an hour or so, but to no avail. I was told it was suppose to hurt. However, when I tried to go down stairs the next morning and fell head over heels because my leg gave out, I was not ammussed. Well, I mean, it was in that "this kind of sucks" sort of way.

Wednesday night I spent my time limping around Presser trying to find a piano that works. Let's review my selection:
Three rooms with two pianos in each.

Room one, piano one: okay except for the fact that you can't change the sound level (i.e. no pp or ff it's all just mf), two of the keys are missing the tops and after playing for fifteen minutes your fingers mysteriously turn black. Odd.

Room one, piano two: big bulky piano. Possibly made in the 1800s. Terrible sound quality and I kid you not, sustains a note for four and a half minutes.

Room two, piano three: kind of a sing-songy piano. Sounds too chiper and two of the B-notes are out of tune, along with an A and a D. Rather annoying. Also, the piano rocks back and forth when you play it.

Room two, piano four: see piano two.

Room three, piano five: a couple notes are out of tune and the D key sticks. Also very annoying.

Room three, piano six: see piano four and add a couple more out of tune notes.

and so after these "pianos" killed my music for about an hour, I was nearly ready to burst into tears. I stepped out of the practice room and I immediately heard this awesome piano playing. "Huh!?" I said, "no one can play that well on THESE things. Where is this music coming from?" I followed my ears through the building until low and behold!!!! I found them! Really pianos! Baby grands just sitting there perfectly in tune, with no sticky keys and didn't even turn your fingers black! So tonight, or perhaps tomorrow after I'm done shooting my frist three minute film, I'm going to back over and redeem my pieces by playing and playing and playing until I just can't play anymore! It will be... in short, glorious.

But until then, I'm stuck here at work.

previous - next