current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2002-09-28 - 10:39 p.m.

So I was calmly standing out in the hall talking to this girl named Kathy about writing and how I actually see my characters and just kind of go along for the ride. And she was telling me about how she can't see them, only hear them and how that's really hard when all of a sudden Lindsay and her roommate come screaming out of their room, the roommate spraying Raid like none other and shouting "Spider! Spider!" Having delt with this situation before in my own room, I calmly walk over and:

*cough cough* "Stop spraying that! Did you kill it?"

"I don't know!" shouted Lindsay.

"I saw it drop from the ceiling and it went under Lindsay's notebook there on the floor," said the roommate.

"And then I went to look and picked it up with my pencil and there was the spider with 5,000 other little baby spiders crawling all over it!" said Lindsay and then continued to scream.

"Ew," I said and went to my room to put on my shoes. I don't take kindly to stepping on spiders in my socks. I went into their room and they followed me sheepishly. Lindsay's notebook was dripping with Raid. I started to nudge the notebook with my toe and the roommate started spraying my leg with Raid "Hey! Hey! Stop that," I said.

"I've got to make sure they're dead!" she said.

"Give me that," I said taking the spray bottle from her. "You've sprayed enough of that in here that you could kill a squirel. In fact, I can hear my brain cells committing suicide from it right now." I again picked the notebook up with my toe and they had indeed done a good job killing the things. There were two huge blobs of bug guts smeared into the carpet and the back of Lindsay's notebook. I picked up the notebook and Raid dripped off it. I started laughing, "Oh man! It's going to suck when you have to take this to English tomorrow."

Lindsay chuckled a bit but wasn't very amussed. Actually none of the girls were. We have a rather large spider problem here in Randolph. We sent a form around asking for the place to be sprayed while we're away on Thanksgiving break but our RA, Kizmet (the helpful dear), said no and didn't even process it... I don't think. Kept it as a record of complaint though. Gee, that's helpful. Now if she could only be as considerate for all my complaints about the people smoking outside my room.

previous - next