current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2003-04-08 - 10:49 p.m.

This past weekend my father and I drove up to Ithaca, NY to check out my new school for next year. The drive up there kind of sucked because most of the time Dad was on his cell phone and then all of Pennsylvania was in really thick fog, and then Mapquest gave us the wrong directions so we went 60 more miles than we had to, then Dad lost our hotel reservations so he called every hotel in the Ithaca area till he found ours and upon arrival he made some rather "duh" statements about the weather to the receptionist, then we realized I forgot my coat in VA, so we had to ask the receptionist where to buy a coat and she thought we were really dumb, and then Dad locked his key in his room. *sigh* But other than that the trip up was fine!

The tour of campus was awesome and I think I'm really going to like it there! They have fun things to do, plenty of people, and apparently the school of communications is rather prestigious. So I'm really looking forward to going there this fall. I'm really scared about having to meet new people and starting over again and not being a freshman - but it will be fun none the less. It really made me feel good to see a few kids walking around with DAT kits and Bolex cameras (which is what I use here) and I was told that the school pays for all the film developing. =)

After we were done with all the tours and lectures Dad and I went downtown to have dinner. It was really funny because there was this couple on a date right next to us and the girl wouldn't talk or smile at all! I felt so bad for the guy. He kept trying to make conversation but she would just roll her eyes and cross her arms. When they were finally done with thier meal he offered to take her to the movies or out for ice cream but she just complained. It's as if she went out with him so he'd stop asking her out or something. I felt really bad for him. He was cute too! Poor guy.

The drive home on Sunday was also pretty boring but there was no fog and Dad didn't talk on his phone as much so we actually got to listen to music which was nice. Other than that not much happened

previous - next