current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2003-06-01 - 8:12 p.m.

I am a racist! *cries* It's true! I didn't know it until yesterday. It's hard but I think I'm finally accepting the fact that I am a racist through sport. I'm sure that many of you, all of you that is (except Patrick) are confused now. Allow me to explain.

Last night was game three of the Stanley Cup Finals (and for those of you lacking in sports - that's hockey). I was over at Pat's house watching the second period when I realized something: "I've never seen a black hockey player," I said.

"Neither have I," Patrick responded.

"Nor have I seen an asian or hispanic hockey player."

"Neither have I," Patrick responded.

I thought about this for a moment. "Ah! I've never seen a black, asian, or hispanic fencer either!"

"Niether have I," Patrick responded. I think he was only half paying attention to me until I said...

"I'm a racist by the sports I love!!!" and collapsed on the floor. He, of course, burst out laughing and after he was done we had a long conversation about if it was really possible to be racist through having your favorite sports be white dominated.

Today was rather uneventful except that James called me which I've been bragging about all day. And then on top of that I got a postcard from him (yes, I know it's Sunday, but I forgot to get the mail yesterday.)

Church was good and to my surprize James's Dad came! It was very nice! I usually don't get to see him so it was nice to chat *coughs* after the service. After that I took care of some cats and dogs, ate lunch, helped my dad with some computer work, watched a "Disney Channel Original Movie" (I think they're cute), and moved dirt. That pretty much brings us up to par.

I'm not really looking forward to work this week, but tomorrow's question is great! Or, at least, I think it is. I do, however, feel a lot better than I have for a couple weeks now. Perhaps the reason may sound foolish to you because it is a fairly obvious and simple idea: I'm still me. =) It made me very happy to realize this. I'm still me no matter what happens and what mistakes I make! I'm still me and I know that I can be proud of who I am. Kind of sounds cheesy, I know, but it is true.

previous - next