current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2003-08-17 - 10:02 p.m.

Here are the last two questions from the trivia game, brought to you by James!

In the Christmas special "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer", what are the supplies that Yukon Cornelius orginally has with him?

If you were in a cabin atop California's Mount Whitney and you wanted to make 500 dozen Quaker vanishing oatmeal cookies, how much flour would you need?

Answers: cornmeal, gun powder, ham hocks and guitar string. And 218.75 cups.

This weekend has been wonderful! Friday night I went to a movie with Debbie. We saw "Bruce Almighty" which was fairly cute. I laughed quite a bit.

Saturday was fun! I went shopping for more clothes which I returned today and ticked off the manager by doing so. Oh well! Customer Service Rule Number One: don't bad mouth the customer while the customer is within ear shot. Needless to say I won't be shopping at that store any time soon.

James and I went canoeing which was awesome and a whole lot of fun. It was kind of rough going at first as we had to paddle our way through a thick forest of seaweed and algae to get to open lake water. I commented that it would make a great location for a swamp scene in some epic adventure movie. James responded with "yes, but the actors wouldn't like it." Coincidentaly I was soon attacked by a bug and hollered from the back of the canoe while thrashing about "help! the swamp bug is eating me! ah!!!!" Thankfully, I won the battle and we were able to venture on.

Quite a few times I spaced out while paddling along the lake. I was amazed at the beauty of it all. I smiled and was throughly amazed at God's work (even though it's a man-made lake, God definately had his part in the landscaping). James and I were even lucky enough to see a huge bird perched on a log in the middle of the lake. We got really close to it and it never moved until James started hitting the side of the canoe with his paddle trying to kill a fly - then it flew away never to be seen by our eyes again. James quickly apologized. Silly boy.

After canoeing James came over to my house to participate in my birthday dinner (yes, I know it was more than a month ago, but hey! who's counting?). It was fabulous and consisted of artichokes, snow crab legs, brocolli, rice, and Italian bread (my favorite kind of plain bread)! To top it all off James and I went to Bruster's and bought a hot fudge brownie sundae to share while we watched John Candy in "Delirious" at his house followed by "Office Space."

*smiles* It was a good day.

Today, was also fun! Church was entertaining because the sermon was on Job and I love Job! However, the songs were a bit... uh... not as up beat and I was dreadfully tired. So tired, in fact, that when I got home I went back to bed for an hour and a half so I wouldn't be so grumpy. I never did fall all the way asleep but I was cozy and lost my foul mood.

After some more packing (departure day is dangerously close), I got to take James driving. It's too bad we didn't get to do that more this summer. He's learning stick shift and for some reason I don't mind all the jerking around the car does with him behind it's wheel. It's so fun to yell and cheer when he gets a smooth start! And he's better at it than I was and a heck of a whole lot better than my brother was!

We did make a quick stop to the park and I went to check to see if Zac's shoe had re-surfaced yet. No luck (sorry Zac). James showed me how far he could skip rocks - all the way down the freaking creek! No matter how hard I tried I couldn't come close to how far his jumped! Geesh!

Unfortunely, James had to practice more so I left his house and ran some errands stopping at the Copper Cup to say "hi" to Patrick and grab an iced mocha. He's right. He does make a better mocha than Soma's. Though I'm not sure that's very hard... and he's been making them for at least 6 years now!

I saw Patrick later after I had run some more errands and fixed the key holder in the kitchen (you should come see it, it's almost cool now!). He came over for dinner and then drove me to Steve and Penny's where we went swimming for a bit. It was nice and warm in the water and it was a clear night and I could see all the stars (and Mars, which is out). I wish James had been there though. It would have been fun to share that with him.

Though this takes us up to fairly late at night, my fun weekend has not drawn to a close. Upon my return home I jumped in the shower. I was nice and chilled from the cool night air and the pool water still clinging to my body. I had forgotten how good it feels to take a warm shower as such a time. I couldn't help but smile as I let the water run over me for an extra long time and gave myself a double shampoo.

previous - next