current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2003-09-01 - 11:09 p.m.

Hello! I figured it was time to finally update this as my faithful readers (all three of you) may be wondering whatever happened to me.

I did leave Bloomington and made it safely (though really freaking slowly) to Ithaca. We stopped in Cleveland to spend the night and I got to hang out with Erin. She took me to the barn and I got to ride Joe (the horse she is taking with her to Hollins this year). I laughed a lot and had great fun and even jumped a pole! Granted, the pole was laying on the ground but I went right over it!

Move in was pretty uneventful. I was suppose to have some orientation stuff going on but no one from the school ever told me anything about it, so I guess it never happened. My room is a bit smaller than I had imagined and I'm yearning for a room in Hood (the substance free dorm) to get away from all the drinkers and partyers on my floor, and also a roommate! I'm lonely! Hopefully that will pass and I'll learn to love/deal with being alone all the time and not having to fight about when the lights go out. We'll see.

I did find a really cool group of people to hang out with. I'm not rather involved with the Protestant Community (hence forth refered to as PC). I really am quite fortunate to have met the group. I did go to the Sunday service and met a bunch of people there including this guy named Larry. I happened to notice the shirt he was wearing and it just so happened that that night when I went to go eat dinner alone (which I hate doing) I saw that green shirt he was wearing. I amazingly remembered his name (I truly think that might be a first for me) and asked if I could sit with him. He was ever so kind and stayed with me while I ate and talked about computers and such. He then invited me to come over later that night and meet the rest of the group. I did, and while I was very quiet for the most part I did have a lot of fun. We ended up watching Chicago complete with surround sound in Allan and Jeremy's room. I had never seen it and truly enjoyed it... though my butt did go rather numb from sitting on the hard floor for so long.

The next day Larry called me up on the phone. I was particularly amazed at this for two reasons: one) I'm impressed with anyone who is brave enough to call someone else. two) He somehow got my phone number. Later he told me that there is a directory online and he looked me up. Still, I was impressed that he knew my full name. I went over to Hood and Larry and I went on a walk out to the pond behind the chapel to get a good look at Mars. I sort of wished that I had a telescope until one of my professors told me that he waited in line for two hours to look through Ithaca's observatory's telescope and all it did was make the bright dot a bigger bright dot.

After finding Mars we went back to Hood Hall and I listened to Larry talk to a girl named Jill, who I don't think I've seen since, but with my bad memory, who can tell?

On Tuesday I went to the PC meeting and somehow got put on the Retreat Team that plans the September retreat. *coughs* we'll see how that goes. On Wednesday I went to the first Evensong (also a PC event). It's basically a late night praise session. Wednesday was also my first day of work (5.5 hour shift as a student cook). It wasn't fun but I dealt with it. I pealed and chopped potatos for the first 3 hours and then was moved to the Kosher Kitchen... which was not such a smart move on their part. The Jewish guy in charge there spent more time explaining to me the difference between clean and unclean and how food gets from one to the other that I spent more time nodding while I chopped more vegetables than anything else. Unfortunately (or something) I had to quite that shift because my knee can not handle standing with no breaks for 5.5 hours. So I am now a student baker working from 6am - 8:45am in the bakery on Friday mornings. I'm thinking this will work out better. We'll see how it goes.

Thursday I ran into Larry again and I got to spend some time with him on the quad talking, then took him to Office Max cause he need binders. I made him drive cause the streets here scare me half to death! He then invited me to dinner and I ate in the Campus Center dinning aread for the first time.

Friday I went to the PC Welcome Back Party. We made crafts and played games. I got into a group playing Tri-bond, but I was REALLY bad at it. Someone reads you three things from a card and you have to tell how they are related. After losing for an hour I recruited Larry to be on my team and we kicked butt.

After the party I went with Kristen, Matt, Schwang and Sean to Matt's room where we played Simpson Monopoly until it was time to meet back up with the rest of the PC group to watch Lord of the Rings (an After Dark sponsered event). It was fun and I brought my catfish pillow for Schwang and I to lay on. I got a lot of compliments on my fish but my entire body was still numb from laying on the hard floor for so long when then movie was done. I also got stopped a lot on my way back to the dorm... but I was carrying a 5 foot long stuffed catfish. Apparently there is some guy who walks around with a giant big bird and a watermelon. I have yet to see him though.

Saturday... I didn't do much. Mostly just homework. Oh! And RaEsa (my would be roommate in the triple I was suppose to be in) and I went and played frisbee. Some guy named Zach asked if he could play and he hit her smack in the face with the disc! We stopped by Hood Hall to ask if Larry wanted to play video games with us and to get a ziploc bag from someone to put ice in for RaEsa's face. =P Larry didn't come with us, but we ended up watching the Labyrnth (sp) and playing a few rounds of Tony Hawk with this guy named Chris and another guy named Steve. A couple other people were there, but I don't remember who they were.

Sunday I went to church, went to brunch with the PC group, did some homework and then went back to church for Time Apart for Prayer. I wanted to go to dinner with the group but had to go to a floor meeting instead. Blah!

And now that brings us up to today! Labor Day! My most favorite day of the year! And today turned out to be another good one! The PC group was suppose to go hiking, but due to rain it has been postponed until next weekend. So, instead we played a bunch of games which was really fun! We played "what's on your fridge/door" where we went around the circle and told one thing that was on our fridge/door and what that told about us. I told them about the magnet Leah got me that says "You cannot stop me, you cannot destroy me, for I am the cockroach of love!" But I have no idea what it says about me. We played "the wind is blowing for..." where you shout something out and everyone who is that has to run to another spot in the circle. We played Daisy to Daisy (but re-named it Christian to Christian) where someone calls out body parts and you have to connect them with your partner until they yell "Christian to Christian" and you switch partners. We played the machine game where someone starts with a motion and a sound and then other people attach themselves on to it until you make one big... uh... thing. We played "Share and Wear" where you go around the circle and talk about the significance of one thing you are wearing. And we played a couple name games with yarn and such. And of course there was food! It was great fun!

And now that we are up to day I had best be getting to bed since it is almost midnight and I have class in the morning! Whew! My second week already!

previous - next