current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2003-09-19 - 6:43 p.m.

For the past several months now I've been getting this telemarketing calls from Dish network asking if I want to purchase one of their products. Normally, I'm very polite about these things and say "No thank you, please take me off your list." However, that didn't work this time - cause eveything was in Spanish! As my Spanish is obviously a little weak, seeing as I wasn't getting my point across: "No tengo un interesanted in sus producto. No! Per favor! Soy un studenta! No habla con mi!" I've been trying to recruit people to answer my cell phone when they call to give their shot at it. But of course, no Spanish speaker is ever around when they call - I'm sure they all think I'm nuts at this point. Well, today the company took the next step. I should mention at this point that I don't answer the phone cause I was afraid of talking to them. They left me a message, not unsual. They left me a message in English - very strange! They left me a message, in English, asking me to pay my bill - VERY VERY strange. So, I gulpped down my nervous, screwed on my Spanish thinking cap (just in case) and called the company.

When given the option I pounded the "1" buttono on my cell phone, asking for English. After pressing more and more buttons telling some machine somewhere in CA that I didn't want to pay my bills (It had a problem understanding that but we eventually communicated) I was transfered to a very nice gentleman who laughed as I told him that I was afraid that I might have accidentaly ordered their services from some Spanish guy. He looked up the account. My phone number was indeed listed for this strange Hoosier I don't know who owes the company $49. Their service, I'm sorry to say, has been disrupted. He took my number off, apologized and promised me that I would be recieving no more scary Spanish phone calls from their company.

Whew! So I can safely answer my cell phone now.

I realize, of course, that I haven't been very good about updating this journal. I bet you all think I'm busy or something. And well, I am busy but not busy enought that I can't write in here every once in awhile. So here we go: major update...

Classes have been going well. This week I had two tests in my media production class. The first was creating a 30 second PSA (Public Service Announcement). I did mine on the dangers of sound and recruited Schwang to say "I'm just going down to the cellar" as a sound bit that I used in it. I spent last Saturday recording the thing... 57 takes later (not including the initial rehersal for the assignment) I finally had a PSA that faded up and down, had all the right voice levels, and was exactly 30 seconds. Granted, since I had 57 takes on my minidisc, my teacher did mention "Wow, 57!" to everyone as I spinned through all the bad takes to get to the one I was sharing with the class. I said something smart alachy and we all had a good laugh over it. I ended up geting a 23 out of 25, which was the second highest score in the class.

On Thursday, for this same class, we had to do our DJ test. In this we aired 3 minutes of live conversation, music, and PSAs. It's recorded on to a CD. So, if you're really nice I might let you listen to it whenever we run into each other next. I still am waiting to hear what I got on that.

Thursday (yesterday), Schwang took me with him to a rather late Bible Study. I tried to weasel out of going but he reminded me that I had been looking for a Bible Study and that it would be good for me. He was right and it was good for me and not as scary as I had imagined it being (I have bad experiences with Bible Study groups) and I even read a passage aloud! Of course, the down side of this was that I didn't get to bed until close to one in the morning. Then I couldn't sleep and had to get up at 5 to go work in the bakery.

The bakery was crazy today! We had two extra people there and for the most part we were all just standing around going "hmmm..." I was eventually put in charge of making the peanutbutter cookies. So I took the large pot (which I can't lift by myself) over to the cookie cutter machine and started loading it. Well, as soon as I scrapped the last bit of dough into the cutter, Phil (boss #1 out of 3) comes over, pokes it, and tells me to take it all out and put more flour in it. You'd think people would check this before they tell me to do something. But whatever. I then spent the next half hour on a step stool digging into the cutter to get the batter out. I was a little short for the task actually. It was shortly after that, that Phil accidently exploded a few gallons of milk and sugar. It was a rather sticky mess. I stoped and helped clean that up before making the rest of the cookies. As a direct result of these activities (and doingn lots of dishes) I spent the rest of my morning sitting in classes smelling like a giant soapy peanutbutter cookie. I suppose it could be worse. Like now for instance. I was all nice and showered but now I'm all sticky cause when the tropical storm got here it flooded my room with hummidity. Not exactly the best afternoon napping environment, but I coped.

So now I'm off to a PC Retreat meeting. I'm not quite sure what we're doing but hopefully it will be over soon. Schwang and I are going back to his apartment to eat with his roommate and watch Eddie Izzard.

Have a good weekend! And watch out for Spanish phone calls!

previous - next