current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2003-11-06 - 4:13 p.m.

I'd like to say that I've been overwhelming busy and that's why I haven't been updating this... but I haven't. Though, the PC council has named me "Official Volunteer" seeing as I'm always the one to perk up and say "I'll do it." Even if I don't particularly want to, which, I suppose is how I've ended up as Worship Co-Chair - trying desperately to make services happen each week. I really have no idea what I'm doing so I basically prance around and hum and hope things magically get done. And somehow they do. Which is amazing seeing as I send out emails like this:

Hey PCers!

I'm looking for some people who would be willing to help out with worship services on Sundays (11am). We are in need of:

Greeters - people to stand around the entrance and welcome people. In addition, you would need to point out what seems to be the obvious, to us at least, to visitors (i.e. "have a doughnut, take a hymnal and program, enjoy your time in worship etc.)

Scripture readers - every week there are scripture readings and they are printed in the bulletin for convenience, but we would prefer the readers read out of a Bible... or at least appear to be reading out of a Bible. This job entails getting up when Allison points at you, reading aloud a bit, and sitting down. It's easy and a great way to see your name in the bulletin and go "look, it's me!"

Communion servers- I must admit I was mislead by this job at first. I thought you had to be Larry to help serve communion, but you actually don't. So if you would like to take Larry's position every once in awhile by standing in front and offering bread or grape juice to people, let me know. And I'll make sure to comfort Larry when I tell him he has been temporarily replaced.

Offering collectors - bug people for money! Really, quite a fun job, you go around and shake a plate in front of people with a happy little grin on your face. And then bring it forward when it's all gathered. Word of warning - there are two offering collectors each service, one of them does need to offer a prayer. But if you're not comfortable saying a prayer, don't worry - we'll just make Larry do it.

Music Offering - Also every week there is a bit of music that is played while the offering collectors gathering "gifts." However, this time does not have to be limited to just those with musical talents. If you want to share a dance or something else you can offer to glorify God, we would love to have you!

General other stuff - if there is anything else that you would like to do, see, or sing in service, please let me know. Those of you who would like to play some of the hymns or be in the praise band, we would be delighted to have you.

And one last quick announcement - we will be having a special service on the Sunday we get back from Thanksgiving (Nov. 30th). The service will start at 7pm and will involve lots of audience participation. We will be building an alter and we ask that you bring something that is special to you to contribute (you'll get it back at the end of the service).

Thanks for your time and if any of these positions interest you, let me know. And just saying you're interested doesn't mean that you are bound to it and you also wouldn't have to do it every week. You can help out whenever you feel like it! Once every two weeks, month, semester. Whatever! We're quite flexible.

God Bless!

God works in mysterious ways, I suppose.

I guess the biggest highlight was getting to play banjo in Schwang's senior recital. Anyone who wants to hear it, let me know and I'll hook you up over winter break with a copy of the cd. I was really nervous about it and made Susan stand backstage with me as I sweated and took deep breaths as Schwang went out and started to play mandalin as an encore to his Bass Trombone pieces. I interupted with the first bit of "Dueling Banjos." I, of course, was wearing jeans, a flannel shirt, and a cowboy hat. Originally I was suppose to go out barefoot but after watching those trombone players spit all over the floor for an hour I decided it wasn't a good idea despite them saying "it's only condensation." yeh... right, and I can play banjo with my feet.

previous - next