current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2003-10-15 - 2:47 p.m.

I'm learning that good weather is in the eye of the beholder. Take for instance, today. It was cold, raining, and windy. Windy meaning gusts reaching up to 60 miles per hour. At first, my reaction was "ARHHH!" and formed myself into a huddled mass as I walked. But then I stopped and re-evaluated the situation. I saw that the weather was actually amazing! It was really quite cool. Of course, just seeing the beauty in the wind doesn't mean you should go tramping across the roof tops. A mistake I made today... twice. And also, you should still walk with caution. Leaves moving at 60 miles per hour hurt when they hit your skin!

Yesterday was totally crazy! It was an amazing day... for the most part, but crazy. It started off normal with me going to classes, except that I brought my walking stick with me. I've been having more problems than normal with walking recently. =P Stupid knees. Anyway, after media production, I trotted over to Schwang and Joe's apartment veered right and went down to The Commons (basically downtown). I met up with Joe and he took me to this really cool store called The Bookery. It's locally owned and they are tre-cool. They even accept hours (the local Ithaca currency). I was hoping to get Michael Moore's new book "Dude Where's My Country?" But they were sold out.

After that adventure, Joe got a bit to eat at an Indian resteraunt. I finished up the rice he was going to throw out. And with food in our bellys we started the hike back up the hill (which is rather steap and long) to the apartment. About half way up we decided to take a detour through a route that is very simliar to Bloomington's Rails to Trails, though I'm not quite sure what this one is called. It did end up taking us a bit longer, but it was a beautiful day, the leaves were all changing colors, and it was a lot flatter so my knees appreciated it.

Upon our return, I iced down my knee as Joe showed me pictures from his Colorado climbing vacation he took last year. Those were fun! And some of the places he went to I saw in Matt's pictures from when he was working in Denver.

Upon realization that it was already five o'clock I trudged up to my dorm (it was rainy and windy at this point). And just for fun and a small change of pace, let's use a different format to outline the rest of the evening, shall we? Great!

17:30 - arrived back to my dorm
17:35 - jumped in shower
17:45 - headed to signing
18:00 - signing choir starts
19:00 - remember that I have Italian homework to do and head over to the library.
19:45 - finish Italian and head back to my dorm where I brush my teeth and grab my walking stick. I make it to Ford Lounge at...
20:05 - meet up with Joe and meet Schwang's parents.

Interuption for story! Schwang's parents, John and Karan, are very nice. It was kind of weird to meet them without Schwang being there, but it went okay. They teased me about my walking stick saying "oh did you bring that for us in case we fall because of our old age?" but that was before they realized that I actually need it to walk. Apparently they felt slightly guilty about it. =P No biggie. Conversation was a bit weird to get started but once the ball started rolling it went well.

20:18 - the concert starts! It was absolutely amazing! They started out with "Manhattan Roll" which was neat. Following that was Beethoven's "Symphony No. 5, Op. 67, C minor" which was great! It was nice to hear the whole thing instead of just the first movement. After the intermission was the real jewel of the concert: "Pines of Rome." The orchestra had members around the auditorium who played in one of the movements! It was nothing short of spectacular and it gave me the chills! Words, of course, cannot describe it!

22:00 - Parentals, Joe, and I met up with Schwang at his locker. From there Joe went home and the rest of us headed down to the chapel for Evensong. Schwang went down front and played mandalin while I stayed with his parents at the top while we sung praises.

After the service we all said goodbye, and I hugged his parents... which I wasn't completely sure about, but whatever. Schwang then took me back to his apartment, where he, Joe and I all had dinner. After a bit of nice chit chat Schwang walked me back to my dorm.
01:15 - we left the apartment and into the rain which was falling nice and straight with hardly any wind. It made for a nice walk and we circled around the campus so I wouldn't have to go up any stairs. We passed by a new place for me - The Turtle Bridge. It was quite cute. I'll have to take a picture of it sometime and get it up here on the journal... as if I'll ever be that motivated
01:50 - made it back to my room and I showed Schwang the pictures I took of our hike from this weekend.
02:15 - finally went to bed.

So now it is Wednesday and I'm done with my classes which means Fall break has officially begun! Schwang and I are starting ours off with a blast tonight! We're going to go see Bela Fleck... or... we will if we can figure out where to pick up our tickets. =P

Tomorrow will be equally as cool with a trip to Moosewood resteraunt to watch Joe play guitar. He's simply amazing! And Friday I'll head out to Cleveland, OH to see Eddie Izzard LIVE!!! Woohoo!

whew! You know the sad thing is... this isn't THAT long of an entry and it took me nearly an hour to write. I'm going to blame it on carrying on too many conversations with people online.

previous - next