current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2004-10-11 - 5:15 p.m.

After reviewing my latest enteries, I realized I haven't made an actual update in quite some time. Instead I've been putting up fun or interesting tid-bits, which in my mind could possibly be more interesting than what is going on.

My group for my documentary class finally agreed upon a topic: Alligators. It started off as a suggestion from Schwang to do Alligator Hunting and soon expanded to include, wrestling, hunting, trapping, attacks, sports, entertainment, media, children, etc. I'm a little nervous about my group. Ryan doesn't know much about the technical aspects of anything and cannot say a complete sentence without using the word "like." Krista is impressed that her mother can read a map. And Tim can't remember where he lives on campus. Needless to say I was especially worried about letting them go to Florida to do a huge portion of our filming without me and with over $10,000 worth of equipment. I just have this lump in my stomach saying to me that they're going to mess this up and not get the footage we need or maybe worse yet, ruin the cameras. I was a little uneasy when Ryan asked me as they were leaving, with all sincerity, if he could put the camera underwater. I started hyperventalating and he said "what if I put it in a ziploc bag? Would it work then?" I thought I was going to be sick.

But they're gone now. Leaving me here in Ithaca to take two midterms that I couldn't get out of and to start writing our 200 page paper that's due in a couple weeks. My fall break is pretty much planned out: living in the library.

Work is going well. I like my job much better now and I can actually see myself doing this for two years now. I like all the kids even if they are a little bit too energetic for me at times, and now that I've finally started making actually lesson plans on the Bible and coming up with good ideas that everyone is thrilled about the nervous feeling is gone. Well, not completely true. I was nervous to all heck yesterday when I gave the Children's Sermon. And the minister who was suppose to be helping me was being very very difficult.

Youth Group, overall, is great. Schwang and I really only have one trouble maker. I think he'll come around though. If not, as advised by my father, we'll have to cut him out of the loop so the rest of the group won't be hurt by him. I've been given some good ideas from my Dad as well as my psychology courses on how to handle him. So, we'll just keep running through ideas until we run out and then consult his parents and work from there. To give you an idea about this kid last week he stole someone's skateboard and threw it in the trash, and this week he kept interupting Sunday School to talk about deaf and blind people making robots. Needless to say we got calls and complaints from a couple parents whose children were in the class who were really annoyed.

Mom and Dad were here this weekend and I had an awesome time, though I think Schwang might have spent more time with them than I did. They got here, with Winston (my dog), on Thursday night. Winston stayed with Schwang and I and Mom and Dad stayed at a Super 8! Woo! Friday Mom and Dad we pretty much on their own during the day, but that night we went out to this great resteraunt and brough my friend Liz along. It was spectacular food and a lot of fun! After dinner we all crammed into the motel room and watched the debate on a slightly static infested television.

Saturday morning I drove Liz and her guide dog to the airport and then met my parents for breakfast at Friendly's. We had a great time talking and eat omlets and then went shopping for curtains! From there we went down to the Farmer's Market where we met up with Schwang and had a specktacular lunch that was amazingly healthy for you. It was great! We sat by the lake and ate while we listened to a lady sing kids songs (Puff the Magic Dragon, Rainbow Connections, Baby Balooga, etc.) to a few children and watched the other kids climb in this awesome looking tree that hung out over the lake. Two fell in though I only saw one - the worst one who did a belly flop when he lost his grip and plummeted into the water only to emmerge wet and muddy. "Mom is going to kill me," he said wringing out his shirt. We all laughed.

We did a bit of touring after that. I showed Mom and Dad the church and my office and we went up to my dorm room and finally down to the Book Sale. Mom didn't want to go because she didn't want Dad to buy any more books, but how can you not go to the second largest booksale in the world! Schwang and I found some great stuff including a book about hiking with your dog and an autographed copy of a Joseph Heller book (the author of Catch-22).

The rest of the day and night was spent hemming curtains which took from about 5 in the afternoon till midnight. It was quite a process, though we did take two breaks: one for dinner which I made and one for ice cream which Schwang and my Dad went out and bought for us.

Thanks to Mom and Dad the youth house looks so much better! The kitchen is absolutely amazing! It's so cute and is a flash back to the 1950s! I love it with it's black table and chairs, red curtains, brickwall paper, enourmous sink, and striped rugs to match the curtains and floor. The upstairs windows all have curtains now that make the place look cozy and will help keep the cold out come winter!

Having Winston stay over was great! I think he had a good time exploring and getting to go on walks everyday! I'm really glad he was here even if he did snore. It was a good feeling to have him follow me around and to roll over and beg for me to scratch his belly. I miss that dog so much!

Sunday morning came all to quickly and I cried as Mom, Dad, and Winston left. It was hard. I wanted them to stay longer and knowing that I probably won't get to see them for Thanksgiving didn't help, nor did knowing I was about to have to do the Children's Sermon, nor did smelling mint toothpaste all during service because of my object lesson in the sermon. =P

Such is life.

previous - next