current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2002-10-30 - 10:46 p.m.

Today I took a much needed break from school. I skipped class, grabbed Christina, a camera and pleanty of film and headed for KY. A little outside of Lexington I met up with my parents who brought a bike and Winston. It was so nice to see them and of course when our visit was over I didn't want to go back to school. I would have much rather gone home.

I had a mission to shoot an awesome film about a girl riding a bike, falling and then getting up and riding off into the sunset. Or at least, that's how I pictured it. It turned out slightly different. My parents and I drove out into the middle of no where on to a backroad with no shoulder and then illegally parked on a private property lot. =P Mom's idea not mine.

The filming was going good aside from the fact that it was absolutely freezing out, it was drizzling and the bike was too big for Christina. And then... the Kentuckians attacked.

This lady came out of her house and said, "What are you doing?"
"We're making a movie," I told her. "Would you like to be in it?" (that's a movie trick that usually works. Normally they leave you alone after that. Not in KY though. I should have known.)
"No, what I want you to do is get off my property. You really should ask before yous goes ahead and makes one of dem movies on somebody's property."
"I'm sorry Ma'am. But I'm not on your property. We're on the street which is public property."
"Where you come from?"
"Virginia."
"Well why'd you have to come all the way out here to make a movie?! Why can't you do it out there?"
"This is halfway home for me and the area is pretty. I'm sorry to have disturbed you."
"I don't need you raising my insurance so you can just get out."
"Ma'am? How would I raise your insurance?"
"You're going to be getting hurt and then suing me! I know what kids like you are like."
"I'm sorry, Ma'am. We're almost finished. We'll be gone in under a half an hour."

I think her eyes actually flarred at that point before she called out "Here chick chick chick chick!" And a sworm of chickens came running out from the side of the house and started pecking at us. On top of that these three kittens dashed in and out of the film and a couple chow dog puppies chased Christina on her bike. It was funny, but not.

I became the fastest film director in the world after that. Shot 200 ft of film in just under two hours. Some people in my class it takes them two hours to do about 30 feet!

Well, after lunch Christina and I packed up the car and we started the journey back to Hollins. I can't remember the last time my heart sank as it did when I saw those gates.

previous - next