current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2002-11-18 - 6:42 p.m.

Yesterday I had a prospective student in my room. She was interesting. From Texas and eager to bring the whole state with her to VA. Geesh. If you don't like a place you should realize you can't change it to fit your wants.

I ended up leaving her in my room so I could go to the library and edit my film. And I'm sure I would feel bad about ditching her except that no one really okayed her staying in my room anyway. A cot and a bag of towels just suddenly appeared in my room some afternoon. Anyway, so I timed my clock project (my remake of it) and found, to my horror, that it is a minute under the running time of the sound. EKK! After much deliberation I decided that the best thing to do was to add on a little over a minutes worth of black film. Only, I couldn't find any! I spent an hour digging through the bins but found nothing but overexposed garbage that I can't use. And then! Behold! I found it! And it was just sitting there waiting for anyone to use it - a huge roll of film in a bag. I rolled some of it off and it was black. Perfect! So I attached it to my film and started counting out the seconds and when I got to about 15 seconds or so the nice black film turned into a picture. I stopped... I looked at the film and gulped loudly. I had just commited the rather large crime of editing Mahaffy (my film prof.)'s film that he has been working on for three years on to my clock crap! AHHHH!!!!

I cut it apart and it is okay except that he's missing a couple frames but as long as he doesn't have his frames counted out (which I suspect he probably does) and he doesn't get my fingerprints off the film (which he probably would) I can expect to go on living.

previous - next