current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

- 4:16 p.m.

Here it is the J-term update...

Germany sucked. It was really cold, I got sick, nothing was ever open, lesbians kissed me and then cut my hair off, everyone got drunk and my professor started sleeping around with the students. I guess I'll explain these one at a time.

There's not really much to the coldness but there is to the sick part. The plane ride over sucked because of these two little Mexican kids who kept kicking my seat and my roommate, Christina, was very sick. I promptly caught her cold but got over it before she did (she's a smoker). Secondly towards the end of the trip I developed "hives." About 8 weeks later I discovered that they weren't hives and in fact, will be with me the rest of my life. It's a genetic disease called glutate psoriasis. Though it does no physically harm it's very annoying and I have to go in for light treatment every so often to help with it. Furthermore, it could take up to a year for them to go away only to be triggered again the next time I get rather sick.

Nothing was ever open - including foutains and public statues which were boxed up for the winter. We hiked up a mountain to a castle that turned out to be closed. We traveled awhile to a cafe that was no longer in business. We walked to three different museums that weren't open on Tuesdays... and it just so happened to be Tuesday. And this stuff just kept happening - the ENTIRE trip.

A lesbian did kiss me after I told her I was not into that type of thing. And I hit her. She was mad but I didn't care. And then a couple of the girls thought I'd look good with short hair and took the liberty of cutting it for me... without me saying okay. I cried.

Everyone getting drunk is fairly self explanatory though I feel I should point out the one night when one girl drank 4.5 liters of beer followed by two shots of yeager. Smart group. I was the only one who wouldn't drink and was therefore asked if I did not want to partcipate in some of the meals since there was going to be a drinking fest (sponsered by our prof.). However, if I did not go I would not get food. Food was rather important no matter how strange it was.

Finally, my professor, who is married, believes in "open relationships." Apparently and particularly with his students. He's slept around for years. And I had to hear the horrer stories about it and how he got one of the girls on the trip's friend kicked out of Hollins because she threatened him with a sexual harassment suit. Fun stuff.

After Germany I went home for about a week and relaxed and ate good normal food. In fact, the first real meal I had in America was breakfast the day after we got back in which I ate a stack of three pancakes with strawberries, an order of hashbrowns, bacon, sausage, two scrambled eggs, orange juice, fried apples, and two biscuits from Cracker Barrel. My mother was quite impressed proclaiming that she had never see me eat so much.

I was definately glad to be done with that trip but I was not so thrilled to be going back to school for another semester.

Stay tuned! And maybe I'll bring you a Feb. summary. You'd like that wouldn't you?

previous - next