current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2003-08-11 - 10:28 p.m.

Dance! Dance! Dance!

My grandpa he's 95
He keeps on dancing
And he's still alive.
My grandma she's 92.
She loves to dance
And sing songs, too.
I don't know
But I've been told
If you keep on dancing
You'll never grow old.
So come on darling
Put a pretty dress on
We're going to go out tonight

Dance! Dance! Dance!
(shoo-be-do-be-do!)
Dance! Dance! Dance!
(one more time!)
Dance! Dance! Dance
All night long!

I'm a hard workin' man
I'm a son of a gun!
I've been workin' all week
In the noon day sun.
Woods in the kitchen.
Cow's in the barn.
I'm all cleaned up.
My chores are all done.
Take my hand.
And come along!
Let's go out,
And have some fun!
Come on darlin'
Put a pretty dress on
We're gonna go out tonight!

Dance! Dance! Dance!
(shoo-be-do-be-do!)
Dance! Dance! Dance!
(one more time!)
Dance! Dance! Dance
All night long!

Come on darlin'
Don't look that way
Don't you know when you smile
I've got to say
You're my honey, pumpkin, lover
You're my heart's delight!
Don't you wanna go out tonight?
You're such a pretty lady
You're such a sweet girl!
When you're dancing
It brightens up my world.
So, come on darlin'
Put a pretty dress on
We're gonna go out tonight!

Dance! Dance! Dance!
(shoo-be-do-be-do!)
Dance! Dance! Dance!
(one more time!)
Dance! Dance! Dance
All night long!

This past Friday night was the best Friday night I've had in awhile. James and I drove up to Indy to attend another swing dance. This time, however, we were armed with friends. Patrick and Leah were there! It was really good to see Leah, I haven't seen her since her Academy graduation. Also, a few friends of mine from work came (Allison, Carissa, Willow and Karen) along with another Academite, Laura Lempke who was just WAY too fun to watch (she so graceful when she dances and she had a fun swishy skirt!). So it was really fun!

James danced with me quite a bit and that made me tremendously happy. Though I wish I were better at it. If I didn't have such a floppsy memory, perhaps I could remember dance signals and figure out where to put my hand and when to spin correctly. I don't like disappointing James or making it more difficult for him. He's already been amazingly patient in teaching me how to dance and I've loved EVERY minute of it! Yes, even the minutes of me falling to the ground.

Patrick and Leah danced well together because of their heights and it was fun to watch them as well. Especially when Patrick was teaching Leah to do the Cha Cha. There was some funky hip action going on! I was impressed.

Tonight Patrick told me that he was surprized at how "good of a dancer" I am. That gave me quite a shock. I never expected to hear someone say that, but I think he was just trying to make me feel good. All the same, it made me smile just like when James told me I was getting a lot better!

For anyone who will be in the Indy area on Aug 25th, I suggest you go to the next swing dance at Fountain Square. If you don't go to dance, go for the music and people watching! A great time is guranteed! Though if you want a refund you'll have to take it up with me in New York. Ha!

previous - next