current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2004-03-23 - 5:01 p.m.

Physical therapy sucked today. It really took a lot out of me. Apparently I'm such a bizarre case that they are taking students in to look at me. So today I had two student helpers along with the therapist instead of the normal one. It was nice though cause they did all my stretching for me and all I had to do was lay there! Hurt a little bit, but it was good. I can almost reach my sock line now!

Today was another fun filled day of Ithaca Preganacy Programs. The abstience program that I help with has evolved into a two day program so I helped out yesterday, too. In one of the middle school classes one of the boys kept pointing at Schwang and saying "I like him! He's really cool!" It was pretty cute. I'm hoping we all made a pretty good impression on everyone.

Yesterday was not such a great day at studio production. I think he was making up for being nice to me last Wednesday. He actually took me asside today and told me that I was doing such a bad job that he was going to require me to do extra work. Grrrr... and I will admit that I was not doing a great job at technical directing, but in all fairness I was not the worst at it in the class and I got a whoping 5 minutes briefing as opposed to the usual 10 minutes people get. Someone, who will not be named, COUGH COUGH, wanted to hurry through everything. He split us into groups for our final project and I called our group meeting last night. It really just turned into a 45 minute gathering of people complaing about him the entire time. I can't stand that man! In any case, I'm not really looking forward to seeing him tomorrow, but I'm hoping we'll get to watch the projects we put together because I'd like to see what other people did as well as find out what they think about mine.

To end I'd like to share something that my mother emailed me. Enjoy!

Lesson Number 1:

A crow was sitting on a tree, doing nothing all day. A small rabbit saw the crow, and asked him, "Can I also sit like you and do nothing all day long
The crow answered: "Sure, why not.
So, the rabbit sat on the ground below the crow, and rested.
All of a sudden, a fox appeared, jumped on the rabbit and ate it.

Management Lesson:

To be sitting and doing nothing, you must be sitting very, very high up.

Lesson Number 2:

A turkey was chatting with a bull. "I would love to be able to get to the top of that tree," sighed the turkey, "but I haven't got the energy.
"Well, why don't you nibble on some of my droppings?" replied the bull. "They're packed with nutrients."
The turkey pecked at a lump of dung and found that it actually gave him enough strength to reach the first branch of the tree.
The next day, after eating some more dung, he reached the second branch. Finally after a fourth night, there he was proudly perched at the top of the tree. Soon he was promptly spotted by a farmer, who shot the turkey out of the tree.

Management Lesson:

Bullshit might get you to the top, but it won't keep you there.

Lesson Number 3:

The boy rode on the donkey and the old man walked.
As they went along, they passed some people who remarked "it was a shame the old man was walking and the boy was riding".
The man and boy thought maybe the critics were right, so they changed positions. Later, they passed some people that remarked, "What a shame, he makes that little boy walk." They decided they both would walk!
Soon they passed some more people who thought they were stupid to walk when they had a decent donkey to ride. So they both rode the donkey!
Now they passed some people that shamed them by saying "how awful to put such a load on a poor donkey".
The boy and man said they were probably right so they decided to carry the donkey. As they crossed a bridge, they lost their grip on the animal and he fell into the river and drowned.

Management Lesson:

If you try to please everyone, you will eventually lose your ass.

previous - next