current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2004-06-27 - 10:28 p.m.

Monkey Puzzle was good and I saw a lot of people there that I know! Alex and Susan were there. =) Leah was there with a couple other Academites. I saw the old secretary from Sally Sturgeon's office, Nancy, there too. She was always really fond of me so I decided to go say "hi." She lives right up the street from me so we were chit-chatting about how I should walk the dog by her house in the morning to try and catch a glipse of Nils (he always stays with here) and she invited me to come up and have breakfast with her and Monkey Puzzle. I had finally just about settled down from saying I'd come when I got a pen thrown at me by my best friend from middle school Cameron who is up to more than ever these days. He had just come from interviewing a guy who got shot in the ear over a cocaine exchange and was leaving for OH right after the concert to learn about race car driving and drive one around the track a few times - all for his newspaper where he is interning. This school year he is planning on going to Lebonnon cause he got tired of staying in Morroco. =P And is sister? Well, she got married and moved to Honduras

The concert was good. Joyce, the lady I went with, was a little awkward to be around (as I had suspected) and she got lost three times on the way back from downtown to my house. "Do I turn here? Oh wait! I don't have to turn at all right? This road will run straight into your driveway." I told mom about it and she said to remember that Joyce is needy.

The breakfast turned out not to be so cool. I met Jerry who was there for five minutes, then ate breakfast with Nancy and when I was leaving Nils walked in and he shook my hand. That was about it. =P But I suppose if I hadn't gone I would have always wondered about it.

I spent most of the afternoon that day weeding. Gag. And having horrific fights with the garlic chives. Before mom left for Texas for the week she explained to me in great detail how ALL of the garlic chives had to be removed and how I HAD to get the bulbs up. What she failed to mention is that the chives are growing right alongside all the flowers. I finally got so frustrated that I dug up all the flowers and picked out the chives. Stupid chives.

When I was exhausted from that I took Winston out to lake Griffy so he could enjoy himself at the dog park. He did a lot better than the first time I brought him there when all he did was try to run back to the car. He actually socialized this time and ran a bit - well, ran as much as an old chubby dog can. He had fun though and even managed to sneak away from me a few times to go swimming while I was occupied with a scary old man who had black teeth who insisted that I stay and listen to him talk about how he got mugged in Muncie and how his dog, Charlie, was getting "fixed" on Monday. Why do weird people flock to me? Why!?

Church was interesting today. The sermon was about sharing so it was brought up about sharing your faith with others and how that's not as easy today as it once was because the Bible is not always taken as an authoritative source. That got me thinking a lot (the bit about the authoritative source), because in my New Testament class that I took we had to read all the gospels that didn't make it into the New Testament and we learned about Paul and took a look at some of the other letters he wrote which contradicted some of the things he said about women and other things too... and it made me wonder how others handle all these things that people come up with - all this history that shows the Bible to be some great piece of work that was selectively chosen to be as manipulative and supporting of the beliefs and customs of the day as possible. Because, quite frankly, I'm having trouble with it. So if you have any advice, I'd really like to hear it. I'm serious. EMAIL ME! *crosses fingers that Susan can write me a remarkable letter about faith once again*

previous - next