current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2004-07-05 - 6:17 p.m.

This past weekend was a lot of fun. Schwang got here on Thursday night and though he was tired he was happy to see me. So happy in fact that he didn't mind that I took him to the mall to go gag gift shopping. What a guy.

Friday he and I spent the day together, starting off with a pseudo hike at Lake Griffy which I wussed out on (hey, after almost grabbing a green snake thinking it was a branch and then being viciously attacked by mosquitos, you would want to take a car around the lake too). We topped off the Griffy experience by making our way through the Kid City adventure canoe trip to get to a couple Kayaks that we rented for an hour or so. We had a great time paddling around the lake and Schwang even saw a blue heron poop! It was big! And well, the bird was too.

We walked around a bit more after we returned the boats and all the little campers had left. We found a turtle and I picked it up so we could look at it. It huffed at me quite a bit and try to run away when we came upon its path again about 10 minutes later. We later referred to this event as "Gibson harassing the turtle." Poor turtle.

From there we went miniature golfing where during the first round I totally kicked Scwhang's butt. He remained in high spirits though and agreed to play another round at a different course. Thinking I would have no problems beating him a second time, I was quite surprised when he made 4 hole in ones! Maybe more - I stopped counting after that. And actually, so did he. Despite his winning lead he decided it was too annoying to keep score. So we just played for fun. And eventually I did make a hole in one on a shot I did left handed! I was proud.

After mom told us we stank to high heavens, we cleaned up, ate dinner with my Dad (Mom was throwing a 50th birthday party at our house) and went to see Spiderman 2 at the drive in which was tons of fun except for the stupid kid who kept throwing his glow in the dark ring up right in front of our car. I was tempted to blare the horn but didn't want to ruin the movie going experience for the rest of the people there.

Saturday we took Winston to play in the creek and caught another movie - Fahrenheit 9-11, which was good and pretty much what I expected it to be - not that that is a bad thing. And it did make for some great conversations afterwards.

That night was my birthday dinner! It rocked! We had snow crab legs, homemade mashed potatoes, and broccoli. I'm hungry just thinking about it! And to top it all off - the amazing chocolate truffle loaf with raspberry topping. Which I *cough* forgot to give Eric a piece of to take home with him. =P

On Sunday, July 4th, we went to church - which was interesting... to say the least. And basically just hung out until it was time to go the cookout.

Though I was expecting the cookout to be the same as always - it definitely wasn't. The annoying kids weren't there and a lot of the normal crowd didn't show up. The food was great though and Mom even brought an hors d' oeuvre that she saw the recipe for on Queer Eye for the Straight Guy. Ha!

The fireworks started a bit early and we were all a bit confused. Eric kept claiming he saw lightening and we told him to be quite. Silly yankees don't know fireworks when they see 'em! you know? *coughs* then the firework finale came a half hour early and a minute later it was thundering, lighting and pouring down rain. "I told you it was lighting!" Yeh, well - it has never rained on the 4th of July before. At least - not in the past 20 years. So we all just blamed the weather on him. Silly yankees.

The party made due though and we lit the sparkler infested birthday brownies a fire so I could blow them out. And then chomped down on cookie dough brownies. Man, they were good.

And that, friends was, in a nut shell, my birthday weekend. I am now proudly 20 years old and for some reason it doesn't feel weird to say.

previous - next