current entry

Farewell - 2006-03-15
still at work - 2005-08-22
an 8 month summary - 2005-08-17
Happy Holidays - 2004-12-15
in short - USA is fucked - 2004-11-03

archives

profile

contact esperence

diaryland.com

2004-08-12 - 10:00 a.m.

Schwang and I are leaving tonight to head up to his parents house where we will spend a few hours sleeping before getting up at 4am to head to the airport to fly down to Tenn. for a Southern Baptist Wedding. (<--- that was a particularly long setence) Anyway, I'm a little ambivalent about it. Not sure I really want to go, especially since there is no reception. *pouts* Flying all that way and I don't even get to dance - I mean really, I realize they're Southern Baptist and everything, but surely they're allowed to dance and do the ever typical and mandatory "YMCA."

Anyway, the wedding is tomorrow night and we will be staying the weekend in Tenn. doing... uh... well, bonding with each other I suppose. I'm not quite sure what we're doing. I'll be staying with Steph (Schwang's sister) at their Grandma's house while Schwang crashes with his parents at some hotel. It could be a long weekend to say the least - we'll be getting back late Sunday night.

Of course, since we're going to another wedding we had to get another wedding present. Schwang and I went shopping downtown and ended up at the local cooking store. After starring at some nicely made overpriced cutting boards for awhile, I found a mug tree. I had never seen one before but was immediately attracted to it...

"Look!" I said, "A mug tree! This is perfect! It's nice, not to pricey and it's nice and nutral since we don't really know these people. Well, I don't know them at all, and you barely do." Did I mention they didn't register anywhere either? So if they get 20 mug trees it's not my fault that everyone went with the safe gift.
"I don't like the color," Schwang responded.
"That's nice," I said. "It's not for you."
"Good point."

So we got it. Haven't wrapped it up yet as we will be having to deal with airport security, and we haven't bought a card yet either. But I'll claim that I've been too busy with Larry's 21st birthday. Yes, our beloved monk turned 21 yesterday and we went out to dinner with him and one of our other friends and then came back to Schwang's apartment for peach pie which took me forever to make (it's hard to find good recipes online!) though I'm told it's very tasty - I haven't had any yet.

Yesterday was particularly interesting for me because I had maybe gotten 5 hours of sleep over the past 2 days though I would guess more like 3. The place I'm staying at for the nights is in the attic and it has basically turned into a suana up there. =P Thankfully, last night I slept like a rock and had fun dreams about eating oreo sundaes and buying new black adidas tennis shoes! I was quite happy!

And going back to the subject of weddings... I'll end this entry by letting you read what a friend has written about his recent happenings:

Well, I had a crazy idea a while back that I should ask Anne to marry me on the House floor.� I called up a friend of the foundation for which I work who has some major connections.� He called the Chief of Staff for Congressman Rohrabacher (R-CA) who was able to accompany us to the floor this morning.� He gave us the traditional tour and then we went out on the floor, which (by the way) in real life looks much smaller than it does on TV.

I had the ring concealed within my New York Times and the blue bag it comes in every morning.� This way, I put it aside in the metal detector and no one noticed.� I transfered it to my pocket at the last second.� I gave my prepared speech, after a "yield" from Don (from Rohrabacher's office).� Unfortunately, there was another small group of people over at the Republican podium, so I had to ask Anne from the Democrat podium!! (this was the only drawback to the whole event!)� The big podium where the President gives the State of the Union is closed to anyone but the Speaker.�(believe me, I asked...)

Anne was absolutely astounded, but she did say yes right away.� She had no idea that this was coming and I hid everything well.� She was speechless for about an hour afterword.� We then caught a limousine and drove around DC enjoying each others' company.

previous - next